Home / News & insights / News / Ministers appoint interim Chair to the CCC

Ministers appoint interim Chair to the CCC

Piers Forster
Professor Piers Forster

Professor Piers Forster has been appointed as the interim Chair of the Climate Change Committee (CCC) by the UK Government and Governments in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Piers has served on the Committee since December 2018. He is founding Director of the Priestley International Centre for Climate and has acted as lead author for several Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports. A physicist by training, Piers is now Professor of physical climate change at the University of Leeds and a highly cited researcher on the causes of climate change and the climate response of the Earth system.

He will take up the role until a permanent Chair is appointed.

Piers Foster said: 
“I’m very proud to take on this role and follow Lord Deben, who has been such an inspirational leader and friend. He taught us so much about the role of evidence and how best to use it to affect change. His leadership led to the landmark Net Zero report, paving the way for legislated net zero targets in the UK and around the world. We will continue the Committee’s great work, as we begin our efforts to advise on the UK’s Seventh Carbon Budget.”

Notes to editors

  1. Appointments have been made in line with the guidance set out in the Ministerial Governance Code for Public Appointments and the Climate Change Act 2008.
  2. The permanent chair recruitment is underway.