Members of the Adaptation Committee

The Adaptation Committee provides independent, expert advice on adapting to climate change to the UK and devolved governments.

The Committee is chaired by the Baroness Brown of Cambridge and is made up of experts in the fields of climate change impacts, science, environmental economics, conservation, public health and business. Committee members have a duty to:

  • act impartially and objectively
  • avoid conflicts of interest 

The Committee is supported by the Secretariat.


Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS


Baroness Brown of Cambridge (Professor Dame Julia King) is an engineer, with a career spanning senior engineering and leadership roles in industry and academia.

She also holds the following positions:

  • Deputy Chair of the Committee on Climate Change
  • Non-executive director of the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
  • Chair of the Carbon Trust

She was non-executive Director of the Green Investment Bank and led the King Review on decarbonising transport (2008). She is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and of the Royal Society, and was awarded DBE for services to higher education and technology. She is a crossbench Peer and a member of the House of Lords European Union Select Committee.

Professor Michael Davies

Michael Davies is Professor of Building Physics and Environment at the UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering (IEDE). At UCL his research interests relate to the complex relationship between the built environment and human well-being.

He is also:

  • Director of the Complex Built Environment Systems Group at UCL
  • A member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of ‘Healthy Polis’ – the International Consortium for Urban Environmental Health and Sustainability

Professor Davies was previously the Director of the UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering, and a member of the London Climate Change Partnership Steering Group.

Professor Richard Dawson

Richard Dawson is Professor of Earth Systems Engineering and Head of Water in the School of Engineering at Newcastle University. Over the last two decades his research has focused on the analysis and management of climatic risks to civil engineering systems, including the development of systems modelling of risks to cities, catchments and infrastructure networks.

In addition, Professor Dawson:

  • holds an MEng degree in Civil Engineering and a PhD in flood risk management
  • is a member of the National Infrastructure Commission’s Technical Expert Panel, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, and UK Collaboratorium for Research on Infrastructure and Cities (UKRCIC)
  • holds editorial roles for the scientific journals Climatic Change, Flood Risk Management and Infrastructure Asset Management

Previously, he served as:

  • lead author for the chapter on Infrastructure in the 2017 UK Climate Change Risk Assessment (CCRA) evidence report
  • a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the IPCC’s 2018 Cities and Climate Change Conference

Ece Ozdemiroglu

Ece Ozdemiroglu is an environmental economist and the founding director of eftec (Economics For the Environment Consultancy). She specialises in interpreting economic value evidence for natural capital, ecosystem services, cultural heritage, the charitable sector and on the value of information.

At eftec, she manages the team’s work on economic valuation, economic appraisal, and natural capital accounting and has delivered over 500 projects since 1992. Her other roles include:

  • Economics Lead for the Valuing Nature Programme
  • Convener of the British Standards Institute’s Committee on Assessing and Valuing Natural Capital
  • Member of the Natural Capital Initiative steering group
  • Associate Editor of the Journal for Environmental Economics and Policy

Rosalyn Schofield LLB

Rosalyn Schofield is a solicitor. She is Director of Company Secretariat at Associated British Foods plc, where she has global responsibility for the environmental sustainability and impact of the business.

  • Rosalyn is also a Trustee at Regent’s University and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee there as well as at the CCC.
  • She has previously worked as Legal Director at JD Wetherspoon plc and was a commercial property lawyer in private practice.
Chief Executive

Chris Stark

Chief Executive

Chris Stark has been Chief Executive of the Committee on Climate Change since April 2018. His previous role was Director of Energy and Climate Change in the Scottish Government, leading the development of Scotland’s approach to emissions reduction and the accompanying energy system transition.

  • Chris has wide experience of economic policy-making, in the Scottish Government, HM Treasury and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.