Members of the Adaptation Sub-Committee

The Adaptation Sub-Committee (ASC) is chaired by The Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE and is made up of experts in the fields of climate change impacts, science, environmental economics, conservation, public health and business.

It provides independent, expert advice on preparing for and adapting to climate change to UK and devolved governments and parliaments.

Committee members have a duty to:

  • act impartially and objectively
  • avoid conflicts of interest 

Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS


Baroness Brown is an engineer and a crossbench member of the House of Lords.

She is also Deputy Chair of the Committee on Climate Change.

She holds the following positions:

  • Chair of the Henry Royce Institute for Advanced Materials
  • Non-Executive Director of the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
  • Chair of STEM Learning Ltd

Her previous roles include:

  • Non-Executive Director of the Green Investment Bank
  • senior engineering and manufacturing positions at Rolls-Royce plc
  • academic positions at Cambridge University and Imperial College
  • Vice Chancellor at Aston University

Professor Michael Davies

Michael Davies is Professor of Building Physics and Environment at the UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering (IEDE).

He has:

  • led an extensive programme of research to understand the complex relationship between the built environment and human well-being
  • pioneered, along with his multi-skilled team, methodological developments specifically in the modelling of health impacts and in the application of system dynamics approaches to the co-generation of research in this field
  • helped to articulate the multiple underpinning connections and opportunities for healthy sustainable development

Professor Jim Hall FREng

Jim Hall is Director of the Environmental Change Institute at Oxford University, where he is Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks.

He is also:

  • Editor of the journal, Water Resources Research
  • an advisor to the World Bank on water security
  • a member of the National Infrastructure Commission Expert Advisory Group

Professor Hall was previously:

  • co-chair of the OECD/Global Water Partnership Task Force on Water Security and Sustainable Economic Growth
  • a member of the Engineering Policy Committee of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Professor Dame Georgina Mace DBE FRS

Georgina Mace is Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystems and Director of the UCL Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research (CBER).

At UCL her research interests are in measuring the trends and consequences of biodiversity loss and ecosystem change.

She is also:

  • a member of the UK Government’s Natural Capital Committee
  • a member of the Natural Environment Research Council

Professor Mace was previously:

  • President of the British Ecological Society (2011-2013)
  • President of the Society for Conservation Biology (2007-2009)
  • Chair of the DIVERSITAS global environmental change program (2011-2014)
  • winner of the 2007 International Cosmos Prize and the 2016 Heineken Prize for Environmental Science

Ece Ozdemiroglu

Ece Ozdemiroglu is an environmental economist and the founding director of Eftec (Economics For the Environment Consultancy).

At Eftec she has directed over 450 projects interpreting the economic value of natural assets and infrastructure that are impacted by climate change.

Her other roles include:

  • Economics Lead of the Valuing Nature Programme
  • member of the Natural Capital Initiative steering group
  • Associate Editor of the Journal for Environmental Economics and Policy

Rosalyn Schofield LLB

Rosalyn Schofield is a solicitor. She is Director of Company Secretariat at Associated British Foods plc, where she has global responsibility for the environmental sustainability and impact of the business.

She has previously worked as:

  • Legal Director at JD Wetherspoon plc
  • a commercial property lawyer in private practice