Members of the Committee on Climate Change

The committee is chaired by The Rt Hon. the Lord Deben. It is made up of experts in the fields of:

  • climate change
  • science
  • economics
  • behavioural science
  • business

The committee is responsible for setting the vision and strategic direction of the organisation. It provides independent, expert advice about reducing greenhouse gas emissions to UK and devolved governments and parliaments in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The committee ensures the organisation uses public funds responsibly.

Committee members have a duty to:

  • act impartially and objectively
  • avoid conflicts of interest

Lord Deben


Chairman Lord Deben was the UK’s longest-serving Secretary of State for the Environment (1993 to 1997). He has held several other high-level ministerial posts, including Secretary of State for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food (1989 to 1993).

He has consistently championed the strong links between environmental concerns and business interests:

  • Lord Deben founded and chairs Sancroft, a corporate responsibility consultancy working with blue-chip companies around the world to help them improve their environmental, social and ethical impact.
  • He is Chairman of Valpak Limited
  • He is Chairman of Personal Investment Management and Financial Advice Association
Deputy chair

Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS

Deputy chair

Baroness Brown of Cambridge (Julia King) is a crossbench member of the house of lords and an engineer. Her career has included senior engineering and leadership roles in industry and academia.

She also holds the following positions:

  • Chair of the Committee on Climate Change’s Adaptation Sub-Committee
  • Non-executive director of the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
  • Chair of the Carbon Trust
  • The UK’s Low Carbon Business Ambassador

She was non-executive director of the Green Investment Bank and she led the King Review on decarbonising transport (2008).

Baroness Brown is currently supporting the UK offshore wind sector as Sector Champion for the development of the Sector Deal as part of the Government’s Industrial Strategy. She is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and of the Royal Society, and was awarded DBE for services to higher education and technology.

She is a crossbench Peer and a member of the House of Lords European Union Select Committee.

Prof Nick Chater FBA

Nick Chater is Professor of Behavioural Science at Warwick Business School.

He has particular interests in:

  • the cognitive and social foundations of rationality
  • applying behavioural insights to public policy and business

Nick is Co-founder and Director of Decision Technology Ltd, a research consultancy.

He has previously held the posts of Professor of Psychology at both Warwick University and University College London (UCL), and as Associate Editor for the journals: Cognitive Science, Psychological Review, Psychological Science and Management Science.

Dr Rebecca Heaton FICFor

Rebecca Heaton is Head of Sustainability and Policy at Drax Group. She is responsible for the sustainability of the global forest supply chains used to produce biomass for its power station, and for research and policy work.

She has extensive experience working for a number of energy businesses on a range of topics, including:

  • biofuels
  • land-use and forestry
  • climate change adaptation

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins CBE FRS

Sir Brian Hoskins is Professor of Meteorology at the University of Reading, specialising in weather and climate processes.

He is also:

  • Chair of the Grantham Institute for Climate Change and the Environment at Imperial College London
  • a member of the national scientific academies of the UK, USA, and China

Paul Johnson

Paul Johnson is Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies and a visiting professor at University College London (UCL).

He is widely published on the economics of public policy, and he co-wrote the “Mirrlees Review” of tax system design.

He has previously held roles as Chief Economist at the Department for Education (2000 to 2004), and as the Head of Economies of Financial Regulation at the Financial Services Authority (1999 to 2000).

Professor Corinne Le Quéré FRS

Corinne Le Quéré is Professor of Climate Change Science and Policy at the University of East Anglia (UEA), specialising in the interactions between climate change and the carbon cycle.

She is also:

  • Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research
  • A lead author of several assessment reports for the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
  • Director of the annual update of the global carbon budget by the Global Carbon Project (GCP)

Professor Jim Skea CBE

Jim Skea is Professor of Sustainable Energy at Imperial College, with research interests in energy, climate change and technological innovation.

He is currently:

  • Co-chair of Working Group III (Mitigation) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
  • Chair of the Scottish Just Transition Commission.

He was the Research Council’s UK Energy Strategy Fellow (2012 to 2017), President of the Energy Institute (2015 to 2017), Research Director at the UK Energy Research Centre (2004 to 2012), and Director of the Policy Studies Institute (1998 to 2004).

He was awarded a CBE for services to sustainable energy in 2013 and an OBE for services to sustainable transport in 2004.