Membership of the Committee

The Committee sets the vision and strategic direction for the organisation and is responsible for the delivery of independent advice on tackling climate change and compliance with requirements for the use of public funds. The Chairman of the Committee is Lord Deben and the Committee itself consists of experts in the fields of climate change, science, economics and behavioural science. Committee members have a duty to act impartially and objectively, and take steps to avoid any conflict of interest arising as a result of their membership of, or association with, other organisations or individuals. To make this fully transparent, we have established a register of members’ interests which can be found on our transparency page. The members of the CCC are:

The Rt. Hon John Gummer, Lord DebenThe Rt. Hon John Gummer, Lord Deben, Chairman was the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food between 1989 and 1993 and was the longest serving Secretary of State for the Environment the UK has ever had. His sixteen years of top-level ministerial experience also include Minister for London, Employment Minister and Paymaster General in HM Treasury. He has consistently championed an identity between environmental concerns and business sense. To that end, he set up and now runs Sancroft, a Corporate Responsibility consultancy working with blue-chip companies around the world on environmental, social and ethical issues. Lord Deben is Chairman of the Committee on Climate Change, Valpak Limited, and the Association of Professional Financial Advisors.

Nick portrait square BWProfessor Nick Chater FBA is Professor of Behavioural Science at Warwick Business School, having previously held chairs in Psychology at Warwick and University College London (UCL). He is particularly interested in the cognitive and social foundations of rationality, and in applying behavioural insights to public policy and business. He has served as Associate Editor for the journals Cognitive Science, Psychological Review, Psychological Science and Management Science. He co-founded, and is a Director of, the research consultancy Decision Technology Ltd.

Professor Samuel FankhauserProfessor Samuel Fankhauser is Co-Director of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and Deputy Director of the ESRC-funded Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy, both at the London School of Economics, and a Director at Vivid Economics. He is a former Deputy Chief Economist of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins, CBE, FRSProfessor Sir Brian Hoskins, CBE, FRS is the Chair of the Grantham Institute for Climate Change and the Environment at Imperial College London and Professor of Meteorology at the University of Reading. His research expertise is in weather and climate processes. He is a member of the scientific academies of the UK, USA, and China.

Paul JohnsonPaul Johnson has been director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies since January 2011 and is a visiting professor at UCL. He is widely published on the economics of public policy including tax, welfare, inequality and poverty, pensions, education, climate change and public finances. He is also one of the authors of the “Mirrlees review” of tax system design. Paul has previously worked at the FSA and has been chief economist at the Department for Education and director of public spending in HM Treasury, as well as deputy head of the UK Government Economic Service. He is currently a member of the council and executive committee of the Royal Economic Society, a member of the Committee on Climate Change, a member of the banking standards board, and has just completed an independent review of consumer price inflation statistics for the UK Statistics Authority. Paul has previously served on the council of the Economic and Social Research Council. He was a founder council member of the Pensions Policy Institute and in 2010 he led a review of the policy of autoenrolment into pensions for the new Government.

Julia KingJulia King DBE FREng, The Baroness Brown of Cambridge, is the Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Aston University. After an academic career at Cambridge University, Julia held senior business and engineering posts at Rolls-Royce for eight years. She returned to academia as Principal of the Engineering Faculty at Imperial College, London, becoming Vice-Chancellor of Aston University in 2006. Julia advises Government as a member of the CCC, the Science and Technology Honours Committee and as the UK’s Low Carbon Business Ambassador. She is a member of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Decarbonizing Energy, and was an inaugural member of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology’s Governing Board. She is Chair of the Sir Henry Royce Centre for Advanced Materials, a non-executive Director of the Green Investment Bank and Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, and a member of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council. In 2015 Julia was elevated to the peerage as a crossbench peer.

Lord Krebs Kt FRSProfessor Lord Krebs Kt FRS, was Principal of Jesus College Oxford from 2005-2015. Previously, he held posts at the University of British Columbia, the University of Wales, and Oxford, where he was lecturer in Zoology, 1976-88, and Royal Society Research Professor, 1988-2005. From 1994-1999, he was Chief Executive of the Natural Environment Research Council and, from 2000-2005, founding Chairman of the UK Food Standards Agency. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina). He was chairman of the House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee from 2010 to 2014 and currently sits on the Energy and Environment Select Committee. He was President of the British Science Association in 2012.

Corinne portrait square BWProfessor Corinne Le Quéré is Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and Professor of Climate Change Science and Policy at the University of East Anglia (UEA). She conducts research on the interactions between climate change and the carbon cycle. She has authored multiple assessment reports by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), and is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Future Earth research platform for global sustainability.

Professor Jim Skea, CBEProfessor Jim Skea, CBE has research interests in energy, climate change and technological innovation. He has been RCUK Energy Strategy Fellow since April 2012 and a Professor of Sustainable Energy at Imperial College since 2009. He was Research Director of the UK Energy Research Centre 2004-12 and Director of the Policy Studies Institute 1998-2004. He has operated at the interface between research, policy-making and business throughout his career. He is President of the Energy Institute and was elected co-Chair of IPCC Working Group III in 2015. He was awarded a CBE for services to sustainable energy in 2013 and an OBE for services to sustainable transport in 2004.